This is Grihastashram - the marriage or wedding i.e. union of a bride and groom whose objective is to achieve completeness of life. There are eight types of marriages according to Ashvalayam Grihasutra Ashtvidhi Vivahprakar.
a) Brahmavivah
b) Daivyavivah
c) Prajapatyavivaha
d) Arshyavivaha
e) Gandharvavivaha
f) Assurvivaha
g) Paishch vivaha
h) Rakshashvivah

Of all these types, Brahmavivah is prevalent and is performed.
Before performing ay of the above Sanskaras or rites, the following rituals are to be performed:
1. Ganapati Pujan whose objective is to protect from any obstacle or danger.
2. Punyahavachan whose objective is to take the blessings of Acharya or Purohit and others for the good of the ceremony.
3. Matruka Pujan: Puja is to be performed of twenty seven deities such as Gauri, Padma, Shachi, Megha, Savitri including Kuladeva etc. in order to avoid any obstacle or danger.
4. Nandi Shraddha: This is to be performed in order to appease the God and the ancestors. It is believed that the performers get prosperity in life.
5. Acharyavarn: By this the Acharya is given the authority to perform the necessary rituals.

The first step is to see if the horoscope of both the bride and groom tallies.
If the horoscope tallies then the Prasad-vinanti is obtained from the Kuladeva (Family deity) of the groom. This is taking the permission of the deity for the marriage Then the auspicious day and time is to fixed. By the time Civil Registration of marriage is done. Before that marriage ritual cannot be performed by priest specially in Goa.

    Designed by Team Inertia
  Legal Information | Suggest this Site | Contact Us